My Top 5 Rock Songs of 2016

As 2016 comes to an end, I think we can all say it has whizzed past. It doesn’t seem that long ago when I heard the news of the passing of David Bowie, or the death of legend Prince either. But there has been some great music to focus on, so here’s my top 5 rock songs of this year.

5. Atlas, Rise! – Metallica

Number 5 on my list comes from  Metallica, who brought out their album out of nowhere, ‘Hardwired… To Self-Destruct’ in November. This single from the record is showcasing exactly what Metallica used to be. It is heavy, aggressive and thrashy; it goes back to the old Metallica sound from decades ago.

4. Charlemagne – Blossoms

Blossoms are an indie rock band that just came to the spotlight this year, and they are getting a lot of attention. No wonder, as their song ‘Charlemagne’ is utterly brilliant. It features elements of indie and hints of disco, what more could I want?

3. Dark Necessities – Red Hot Chili Peppers

I love this song. I am not exactly the biggest Chili Peppers fan, but when I heard the combination of Flea’s bass and piano in this song, I couldn’t not adore it. It drifts away from the band’s typical funk sound and into a more flowy, almost beautiful, melody.

2. Wolves of Winter – Biffy Clyro

Some may say Biffy have gone too commercial sounding, but their new album they brought out in July is outstanding. ‘Wolves of Winter’ is hard and unafraid. It brings out your inner hard, hard rock, and Simon Neil’s screams and shouts just make it riveting.

Top Spot – Lazarus – David Bowie

This haunting song is out of this world. I can’t put words to my love for this song. Just listen and you’ll get shivers.

Leave a Reply

